Old poetry…..cleaning out my files as I veer down a new path

291049-stock-photo-sky-nature-water-tree-clouds-calm

Before you

Before the water was always murky
Scary, dark, unknown
Before I couldn’t see the light
Only darkness, fog, confusion
Before the path was overgrown
Weeds, trees, impenetrable
Before the sun always obscured by thunderclouds
Looming, black, menacing

Since I met you
The water is clear
The light is visible
The path though rocky is traversable
The sun shines through the rain

All the before was just practice, preparation, conditioning
Painful, ugly, scarring even…….
Developed in me the deepest appreciation for human kindness
So that when you appeared before me
Part of me knew…….
I had finally found the one.

Kerensa Hughes 8-3-11

    OK So now this made me cringe a little, laugh a little, want to puke a little. But there is truth in it, temporarily, that person brought light to my life. Now I know that it wasn’t that he illuminated my life so much as I shone more brightly for a time with him.

    NOW I know how to light my own days and nights!

One thought on “Old poetry…..cleaning out my files as I veer down a new path

  1. Pingback: Old poetry…..cleaning out my files as I veer down a new path | Kernie C-Asthma Girl Runner

Leave a Reply

