the power of understanding

kfon242l

The power of understanding….what is that? My ex-husband always said he understood me and I took him for granted, I didn’t appreciate him like he did me. I’ll just accept that as truth and acknowledge that he might be right. Maybe I didn’t know how. I don’t know, but I have someone in my life who seems to understand me, and it is pretty powerful, knowing I can act like an asshat when I need to, that I can cry when I need to, that I can have a tantrum, that I can be sweet and kind and generous and never be taken for granted.

Have I mentioned that my life isn’t as simple as it used to be? My kids have been nonstop sick since end of January, and I’ve tried to meet their needs medically and keep them safe and whole. It’s been rough emotionally and I definitely haven’t been eating well while we’ve gone through this. I haven’t abused food per se, but I haven’t given my body the nutrition it needs either. I need to start making it a priority!

I’m on spring break. How freaking cool is THAT? My first ever! My kids and I are going on a mini vaca to a nearby state for some aquarium, museum, and other fun. My kids are the most fun dates in the whole world, and we deserve some time away from the world. This is our first trip since my separation and divorce….so three years without a “real” road trip and overnight stay….two days with a pool, fitness center, free hot breakfast, free wi-fi, cheap trolley and taxis available…..just honestly a total blast for us.

Back to the power of understanding…..the freedom to be myself, to be authentic with someone, even when it’s my dark side, my happy side, my ugly side, is amazing. I don’t have to cloak, I don’t have to be tough when I don’t want to be, I don’t have to be anything but me. I hope to keep this trend going, of people who can take me as I am, crazy, good, bad, ugly and all. That’s what we all really want, isn’t it?

2 thoughts on “the power of understanding

Leave a Reply

