What I train for

What do I train for? This isn’t the “why I run” blog because my reasons for running aren’t the same as the reasons for training. While I run because I feel certain things and it makes me stronger and more powerful and healthier, I train so I can run distance.

I am a distance runner. I started out with short runs like everyone else who takes on running in their 30’s. I started running in 2008 and I decided by the following fall I wanted to run 13.1. That’s pretty quick turnaround given prior weight, current joint issues, and severe asthma. But it was my goal.

So May 2010 I became a distance runner at the Cleveland Rock N Roll Hall of Fame Half Marathon. And I was hooked. I ran 4. Then I went to grad school. So I ran none in 2011. In 2012, after I graduated, I trained for and ran the Monumental a second time.

So this is a long winded way of saying why I train. I train because of the pic I’ve attached. Because the joy of conquering 13.1 for me only comes with training and dedication. I can’t just show up and run one. With my asthma every single 3.1 after the 10 is misery on my calves. I train so I can mentally push past the pain and finish every race with a positive split. Because that’s who I am. I am a distance runner.

Today I ran 4.04 after working all day and wrestling bears (elementary kids same diff) because this pic came to my phone to remind me not to shortchange myself, to go the distance. And where before the run I felt fatigued, tired, worn down, afterward I felt like I could take on the world. I felt like I did in the picture, like I could accomplish anything I set my mind to. And I shall.

20130506-210544.jpg

Leave a Reply

