Murph, yes I half conquered plus a mile….CrossFitter for Life?

So I’m not a CrossFitter anymore, though I did train for the Murph because like the half, or the full, or whatever….RESPECT the WOD like you respect the distance.  So I trained, or so I thought, doing pull-ups on the pull-up assist, doing 100 modified push-ups, countless squats, and miles for time.  So I started here with the 1 mile run, which is the full Murph distance, the only part of my WOD that was full Murph, because, well, I’m a runner.  I can run some distance even when I’m tired.  So here’s my starting running pics, with others and all by my Asthma Girl lonesome once the group left me in their rainy footprints.

that's ME AGR in the back....leading the pack from the rear

that’s ME AGR in the back….leading the pack from the rear

IMG_2459[1]

AGR and no one else in sight…..whistly but moving

So next element in the WOD was pull-ups, and I trained at the gym for the last six weeks on the pull-up machine, with a 90lb assist.  But let me say…….banded pull-ups make a pull-up assist machine look like a sissified girly contraption.  I felt like I had not done a pull-up since December, even though my Twitter and FaceBook page followers can attest to my assertion that I have, in fact, done so.

This is what it looks like…..that’s not me though!

man doing pull-up on assist

Here’s what MURPH banded pull-ups look like (yep, that’s me front and back….kinda impressive).

banded pullup extension

banded pullup extension

all the way over the bar, no cheating

all the way over the bar, no cheating

I was dying by thirty pull-ups, had to switch out a lesser band for a stronger one after an epic fail trying to heave my enormous overly heavy body over the bar.  I cannot even remember how to kip but even more important, I felt like a water buffalo trying to lift myself above the bar.  That cute little machine up there makes me feel like supergirl.  Not so damn much, Infinity Fitness, you reminded mpae how far away my days at RegalFit are, how many Cheetos I’ve stress eaten in my classroom.  I might still be wearing my pants but who is wearing my fluff?

Third element….the WORST.  100 Push-ups.  Modified.  Even modified.  I mean, I’ve grunted through them at home, screamed through them, but I was worried about doing them in public, so I hid over by the wall of kettlebells, so no one could see me cuss or cry.  I needn’t have worried, the camera didn’t even catch me this time, I had my daughter snap some pics of my nemesis anyway “for the blog”.  I like these memories, I am a bit of a masochist.  So I do ten and I’m ready to cry thinking…..90 more??  Somehow, I don’t know, I got through them.  By the end I could only do 4-6 at a time.  My plans of sets of 10 after those nightmare pull-ups went right out the window.

focused and in motion

focused and in motion

going for more torture, or prayer?

going for more torture, or prayer?

So I finished the push-ups, I actually got stuck on 97, did 8 in a row and fell on my face, pretty much.  Had to rest my shaking, quivering, gelatinous arms, then do the last silly three damn push-ups.  Last element…..finally something I can manage.  Squats.  I don’t have the deepest squat because my knees suck so bad, but at this point I am so glad to get through an element so I can run again and be finished! I was able to do squats 50 per set…..hilariously different performance thanks to the squat challenge in March and all that spinning the last two months. 🙂

Moving FAST down she goes

Moving FAST down she goes

And she's UP

And she’s UP

Oh squats were sets of 50 but also my first chance besides running to use my inhaler….did I mention I used it like 8 times in a 45 minute WOD?

Yes, I AM AGR peeps

Yes, I AM AGR peeps

So my daughter cheered me on, and I got to see my old CrossFit and prior work acquaintances, and it was really nice to do so.  Great to cheer them on and push myself to the finish.  I may not be a CrossFitter anymore, but I still have the mental toughness I learned in Infinity and Regal Fitness CrossFit gyms.  I can still perform CrossFit elements when I train at the gym, I can still do the Murph every single Memorial Day and never let go of that piece of myself, because I like the RAWR I see in these pictures, and I missed it.

I finished with a mile run and I would love to say I ran it for time, but I felt dead through my whole body.  I was so thankful for the cool mist and temperatures, but my muscles would barely cooperate as I tried to run, and my lungs were even more labored.  I hit the inhaler and kept going, walked a few steps uphill just so I could finish at a slow jog.  I smiled so hard on my return because it was almost over! Oh and also my sense of personal accomplishment.  I conquered quite a WOD just under 45 minutes and without all the training that is supposed to lead to such an undertaking.  I finished it because I’m Asthma Girl Runner, and because I respected the Murph.  Here’s to a trip to Long Island NY and NYC and another race for Lieutenant Michael Murphy.

IMG_2453[1]

Thank you to all who have served, who continue to serve, who make sacrifices, and who have died so I can be free to write this blog.

crossfit-infinity-memorial-day-murph

Leave a Reply

