Walking wounded

We are all the walking wounded
We all have scars
Some visible, some internal
We have choices
Heal our wounds
Band-aid them, give them air, ointment.
We are all damaged
It is the nature of humanity
Our complex painful interactions
Our wounds can strengthen us
If we heal them
Our wounds weaken us
If we ignore them, cover them and let them fester
We are all wounded
But those of us who recognize and heal our wounds
Have no obligation to save others
Who are old and wise enough to save themselves
We are all the walking wounded
But I smile through my scars
I have vitality.
Energy.
Love.
Passion.
Compassion.
Happiness.
I am wounded but I am also healed
I have hope.

KC
7-2-13

20130702-115620.jpg

Leave a Reply

